About us
About us


The UrbanGrowth NSW Development Corporation is responsible for promoting, co-ordinating, managing and securing the orderly economic development of five Growth Centres across metropolitan Sydney.

We work with government, private sector and community partners on complex, large-scale urban development programs that support the NSW Government’s priorities of job creation, housing supply, and economic growth.  

We believe the best urban places bring together economic, social and environmental benefits to create a legacy of sustainable places for future generations.

Who we are

Who we are

The UrbanGrowth NSW Development Corporation came into effect on 1 January 2013 under the Growth Centres (Development Corporations) Act 1974 (Growth Centres Act). The Growth Centres Act is the primary legislation under which the Development Corporation operates.

The Development Corporation was previously known as the Sydney Metropolitan Development Authority (SMDA). The purpose of the UrbanGrowth NSW Development Corporation is to drive housing and employment opportunities in specific areas serviced by public transport and infrastructure.

Our role

Our role

The role of the Development Corporation includes:

  • working with transport and planning departments to identify precincts for renewal
  • undertaking land use planning investigations and feasibility analyses;
  • delivering an overarching precinct plan
  • coordinating transport and infrastructure planning
  • planning for open space in identified precincts
  • levying infrastructure contributions and entering into planning agreements
  • dealing with land where appropriate
  • borrowing and managing funds, and
  • partnering with public agencies and private entities when necessary.
Growth Centres

Growth Centres

UrbanGrowth NSW Development Corporation administers its responsibilities within five designated growth centres: Redfern-Waterloo, The Bays, Parramatta North, Cooks Cove and Granville.





New Growth Centres added

In July, The Bays Growth Centre and Parramatta North Growth Centre were added to the corporation’s responsibilities.


SMDA became UrbanGrowth NSW Development Corporation

The SMDA became UrbanGrowth NSW Development Corporation and inherited SMDA's growth centres and responsibilities. In August 2013, the Cooks Cove Growth Centre was added.


Sydney Metropolitan Development Authority

The Sydney Metropolitan Development Authority (SMDA) was established under the Growth Centre (Development Corporations) Act 1974. SMDA was set up to manage and deliver urban renewal in the designated Redfern Waterloo and Granville Growth Centres.


Redfern-Waterloo Authority

The Redfern-Waterloo Authority (RWA) was established under legislation to manage urban renewal in the Redfern-Waterloo area. It focused on change across the built environment, employment and enterprise, and human services delivery. On 1 January 2012 the RWA was dissolved.

Latest News